_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Compulsive Spenders?
YodaMan
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 1,561 Posts
KitMaker Network: 485 Posts
Posted: Monday, May 20, 2002 - 01:57 AM UTC
First off, sorry if this subject has already been posted. The connection is really slow today, and I don't have the patience to look for it...
So, I'm a model builder. Yup. My question is this: Can I ever again go to a hobby store and get only what I planned to? I was going to go pick up the 1/48th Revel P-38 Lighning today. When I saw that the kit was only 10.99, I just had to look at the other kits. I found out that my Hobby Lobby had completely restocked thier selection of Tamiya military kits... Aaaak!! I came to get one plane, so I left with two.... and some masking take.... but that's it! The other model I got was Hasegawa's 1/48th Bf109G-14.
Anyone else seem to have the uncontrollable to buy model kits when you're at the hobby store?

YodaMan
Bombshell
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 293 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Monday, May 20, 2002 - 02:16 AM UTC

Quoted Text

The other model I got was Hasegawa's 1/48th Bf109G-14.

YodaMan

Well a least you bought a good looking, kick-axx kit of an equally good looking and kick-axx aircraft

The same thing happens to me many times. I usually go to the hobbyshop to get some paint or new blades but I cannot resist picking up a kit. Sometimes I go there looking for something specific, like last Tuesday I went to get a Tamiya M4A3 Sherman, but they didn't have it in stock. I should have just done an about face and save my money, but instead I picked up a Tamiya M48 and a Tiger I.......DOH.

BTW, next time pick up some Armor...

Cheers,

CDT Reimund Manneck
U.S. Army ROTC
Sundown
Visit this Community
Canada
entire network: 67 Posts
Posted: Monday, May 20, 2002 - 02:41 AM UTC