_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Why the Second World War??
cementshoes
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
entire network: 69 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 06:41 PM UTC
My family and friends think I'm strange because of my fasination with WW2. I can sit and watch documentaries non stop, I only model WW2 and I only read books on WW2, its almost obssesive. I sometimes wonder if I was involved somehow in a past life (haha).
What fuels your intrest, whether its modelling, specific battles or just that era in general
Sabot
entire network: 12,596 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,557 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 07:10 PM UTC
I am mainly a modern armor builder since I've been in, on and around US armor ofr nearly a quarter of a century.

Because there is a lot more WW2 models out there, I also build a good number of WW2 armor. I find it very enjoyable.

I believe WW2 is more popular because when the plastic modeling industry began, folks were still familiar with the "Big One" and many of the vehicles were still in use or being returned to the US as displays.

Germans made such great progress from the late thirties to 1945 that the evolution of their panzers is very interesting. It is hard to believe that a private who crew a Panzer I could have lived to eventually crew a Tiger II and still be a relatively young man.

Contrast this to a US tanker who may have started on an M2 Medium tank before the war would most likely be comfortable working on an M4A3.
ROCKET
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
entire network: 36 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 07:18 PM UTC
Hi Rick

My main interest is history. I was into history and reading before I started modelling.