_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Health and Safety
Have a question about what is safe or an experience that might warn others?
Braincells!
User_789
Visit this Community
Sweden
entire network: 476 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Saturday, February 15, 2003 - 10:53 PM UTC
Hi!

I had a terrible headache yesterday and I went to a doctor. He thougt that the headache depended on that I paint models with enamels, (that destroy my braincells!!!)...

Anybody here on Armorama that is a Doctor, that can explain if this is a true statement... ?

Thanks!
Hollowpoint
Visit this Community
Kansas, United States
entire network: 2,748 Posts
KitMaker Network: 841 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 16, 2003 - 04:14 AM UTC
I'm not a doctor, but I play one on television (joke)

But seriously, we use lots of chemicals in this hobby and you should always work with adequate ventilation. Enamels, oils, paint thinners, solvents, model cement, super glues, zip kickers, decal solvents, even acrylic paints all give off fumes that bother some people. Personally, the slightest whiff of zip kicker (CA accelerator) makes me ill. Other stuff that might bother you are dust from cutting or sanding resin, or the fumes from heating and stretching sprue.

My advice: get a fan and keep the air moving in your work area. Don't close the door. If possible, open a window whenever the weather allows. A cheap dust mask can help with resin dust, and more expensive respirator masks with proper filters are available for paint fume protection. If you have a room dedicated to modeling, you may also want to install an exhaust fan. Also, don't leave paint or thinner bottles sitting around open when you're not using them.

As a smoker and person who is prone to sinus problems, let me offer a bit more general advice: keep yourself hydrated by drinking lots of water. In the winter, air inside most homes gets very dry and dusty. A humidifier can help a lot.

Hope this helps.
User_789
Visit this Community
Sweden