_GOTOBOTTOM
 Community Forum: The Springbok Club
Want to meet up with modelers in your country or region? This is the place.
Building the Olifant
Tarok
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 10,889 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,373 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2006 - 01:35 AM UTC
I'm starting this topic on behalf of Savage...

So Eric... over to you boet
Savage
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,405 Posts
KitMaker Network: 592 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2006 - 01:48 AM UTC
Thanks Rudi!

Hi Guys, being an SA expat, I thought it best start this here.

EDIT: Rule Number 1- I'm no expert on the Olifant!

So you want to build an Olifant in 1/35 scale?

Which one; Mk1, Mk1a or Mk1b? (I know zilch about the Mk2)

Even with this established, which Mk1, Mk1a or Mk1b?

I worked on the Olifant for a little bit, read many books on the Olifant series as well as many articles (almost all of them with mistakes in them). The most basic mistake is identifying the vehicle.

Right, before I continue to bore you all to tears; who is actually interested in building a 1/35 scale Olifant?

Edit: Also did you know that there has been a conversion for the Centurion, by a mainstream resin producer, that (except for the lights and a few other minor details) builds into an 'initial' Olifant Mk1?
Savage
Visit this Community
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2006 - 02:54 AM UTC
I first got interested in this ‘project’ when I found out from ‘Red Carpet’ that a 1/35 Mk1a would cost me R1000-00, my first thoughts can’t be put into print.

After searching for the every elusive Tamiya Centurion and not having Barv’s scratch building talent, I found that I was little closer to a 1/35 Olifant.

Doing research on this creature was virtually impossible as photos and printed material were very scarce. Add to this that the different marks were constantly misidentified by almost everyone.