Soldier Stories
Served in the military? Discuss your time and experiences here.
Hosted by Dave Willett
Should I, or not?
M60
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 12 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 05, 2005 - 10:31 AM UTC
Join the Naval Reserve?
The "Basic" is only two weeks!?! I'm not sure about the AIT part. I need to find out more, but I'm kind of kicking around the idea for now.
I had prior service with the Army/Guard. I am 36, 37 in 3 days. I am a professional firefighter now. I could stand to lose about 30 pounds. I am capable of doing my job and then some, but I am unsure about a two mile run. I broke my left leg about three years ago and now have 7 screws in the bone. I have been considering getting back into the service but I am unsure.
Anybody have any thoughts? Good bad or otherwise? I know the Naval Reserves have been activating personnel, wich does not bother me, but my wife would be a different story...
I sit and think...

M60
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Posted: Wednesday, October 05, 2005 - 10:36 AM UTC
P.S.

I may not respond to any replies quickly. I only have internet at work and my schedule gives me four days in a row off, and I am taking a vacation day Friday, so I'll be off six days.

Thanks, -60
jazza
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
entire network: 2,709 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 05, 2005 - 11:22 AM UTC
This is a decision that will affect the rest of your family...are you sure you want to include us in your decision making process?

I personally would give up anything for my family so I will be doing a deep soul searching to find out what i hope to achieve by going to the Naval Reserves and if that is worth enough to me to compromise the time i have with my family.

Do you want to do this because you are curious of what its like or is it something you've always wanted to do but never had the chance.