_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Quality of Model Kits (Best Manufacturers)
SFC_StJohn
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
entire network: 128 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2004 - 01:41 PM UTC
Please keep in mind, I am relatively new to armor modeling (I think that I've built around 12 models). My question is - What are the best brands of models to buy? So far I have to say that I appreciate Academy the most. I have only built Tamiya, Italeri & Academy brand models. I keep seeing good looking kits going fairly cheap on Ebay but I hesitate on buying any because I'm not sure of the quality.

Thanks for any and all advice - it's greatly appreciated!
dbusack
Visit this Community
South Dakota, United States
entire network: 971 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2004 - 02:16 PM UTC
From what I have read on this forum, one company may be fantastic with some of their models and totally bite with others as far as fit, accuracy, and quality. What you may want to do is ask for example who makes the best M1A1?

Don
capnjock
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 860 Posts
KitMaker Network: 340 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2004 - 04:54 PM UTC
I would also put DML along with the others you mention. Of course it is best to read reviews on any kit you would like to buy, but, they are not always available. The manufactures mentioned give good value for your money. I have also purchased other manufactures kits because they where not available in any other form. Actually, I usually buy a kit because I like the vehicle so the amount of work isn'really a factor. Revell also makes some kits, buI I feel they are more spotty in quality than the others.
capnjock
muca
Visit this Community
Pavia, Italy
entire network: 88 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2004 - 10:37 PM UTC
I think it's a matter of tastes.