Trouble with decals?
Decals, Future and Dullcoat
HastyP
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
entire network: 1,117 Posts
KitMaker Network: 570 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2003 - 02:44 PM UTC
Guys... I have a question that has probably been asked a million times but here goes...

I am to the point where I want to add my decals. Now I know future is good to put down before to avoid silvering and such. Do I cover the whole model as this helps with weathering as well, then add my decals then apply my dullcoat? Should I thin the future? I have never used future on a model before so I want to get it right the first time.

Thanks for any info!

HastyP
TwistedFate
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 805 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2003 - 02:55 PM UTC
I always future the entire model to maintain an even finish after final clear coat, but I have and automotive modeling background so finish is important for me.

Thinning is optional if you are airbrushing the Future on. Either way lay down multiple light coats, instead of one heavy coat.

For brushing it on, don't thin it.
capnjock
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 860 Posts
KitMaker Network: 340 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2003 - 05:42 PM UTC
As Col. TF states above, I also future the whole model to keep the finish consistent. After decaling, I also future again then put down my dull coat. I do not thin the future as it seems to run pretty good to me.
capnjock
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
entire network: 17,582 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,250 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 29, 2003 - 07:30 PM UTC
Hi there

Like the others, I always put a coat Future (Klear in the UK) over the decals.

I usually apply Klear with a brush, but have airbrushed it without thinning.