_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Acrylic Paints - Help Needed
blaster76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 8,985 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,270 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 26, 2003 - 12:25 PM UTC
Now that I have your attention..... I have been airbrushing for 30 years. In all that time I have only once gotten acrylic to work through my airbrush. I have tried Polly' S , Tamiya, and Model Master varietites. I have tried using water, alcohol, and some "airbrush thinner" made by Polly S. So today, once again a major mess and no paint shoots through the airbrush onto my Essex flight deck. I'll mix a batch of enamels together to achieve a reasonable color and go from there. Could/would someone give me a guideline on successful use of these colors?. The only one that ever worked was Tamiya red which I used for hull color a month ago.
PorkChop
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
entire network: 3,179 Posts
KitMaker Network: 307 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 26, 2003 - 12:29 PM UTC
What airbrush are you using?
I use Tamiya and MM acrylics out of the bottle all the time through an Aztek 470. Worked fine through a bader too, though I quit using the airbrush cus I really didn't like it-- the Badger that is. I love my 470.
keenan
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
entire network: 5,272 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,192 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 26, 2003 - 12:58 PM UTC
Blaster, I shake and bake MM Acryl out of the bottle through my Testor's airbrush and have never had a problem. In fact, MM Acryl is what got me started airbrushing. No thinner at all.

Shaun
Plasticbattle
Visit this Community
Donegal, Ireland
entire network: 9,763 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,351 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 26, 2003 - 01:49 PM UTC