_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hello all.......
Jay
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 42 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 03, 2003 - 07:32 AM UTC
Okay, I'm new here, so I guess I should give it a go.....

My name is *you guessed it* Jay (or Jason if you want to be specific, I’ll answer to anything, schmuck, meathead, dope etc.). I'm 30 and I work as a Project Manager/CAD Draftsman for a crane company (pretty exciting, huh? – it pays the bills and buys the models – what more could you ask for?). I'm also working towards a degree in structural engineering, but I go to school nights, so it is slow progress. I’m from the US, the great liberal haven of Massachusetts to be exact (and NO, I'm NOT a liberal). I also have a second job at a local hobby shop, I don’t make any money there though, instead I come home with merchandise in place of a paycheck (at a discount too!). It’s a nice arrangement, but it has lead to a MAJOR backlog of unbuilt kits. I try to tell my girlfriend that I’m collecting kits so I have something to do when I retire, but she isn’t buying it.

I served four years active duty, US Army, as a 19K20 (Sgt/Tank gunner). In addition, I have about seven years time in the USAR and NG, MOS varies. Currently 11H20 - member of an anti-tank detachment (TOW missiles) in the MAARNG. I've seen and taken part in the full spectrum of ground based combat arms now, armor, artillery and infantry.

A basic rundown of my military experience:
Two years (1992-1993) US Army Reserve - Infantry
Four years (1993-1997) US Army (active) - Tank crewman (M1A1 Abrams)
Two years (1997-1998) US Army Reserve - Military Intelligence/Military Police
One year (2000-2001) MA Army National Guard - SP Artillery (M-109 SP)
Currently – (2001-Present) MA Army National Guard - Infantry anti-tank (TOW missile)