_GOTOBOTTOM
 Community Forum: KitMaker USA
Want to meet up with modelers in your country or region? This is the place.
Shops & Stops on the road
Shadowfax
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
entire network: 389 Posts
KitMaker Network: 43 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 06:47 AM UTC
I want to start out that I am not sure if this is the correct area to post this, but here it goes...

I am a truck driver and a model builder, so I get to travel around the US and Canada quite a bit. I made an amazing discovery last month when I was in Buffalo, NY. While parked at the only truck stop in town (Jim's) I noted an old train caboose in my side mirror... I got an took a closer look, and there before me was a hobby shop!

As it turned out, it was a BIG hobby shop with pretty good prices. Niagara Hobby

Have any other truckers run across a hobby shop in proximity to a truck stop?

PS. I also found a military museum with truck parking in Nebraska (of all places). the Heartland Museum of Military Vehicles was a very nice place. I liked it better than the Patton Museum, because it was better lit and there were more vehicles located outside in day light. He has plans to double his floor space, and ALL his vehicles are in running condition. If you ever find yourself on Interstate 80 in Nebraska, I highly recoment the stop.
matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 5,957 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,626 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 07:55 PM UTC
Not a Truck Driver, But i usually Look in the Phone book when I go on a Trip just to check out the Local places. I'll agree on Niagara Hobby!!! There's a few more Just Up Union road (heading opposiet from Niagara.
generalzod
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 3,172 Posts
KitMaker Network: 612 Posts
Posted: Friday, February 02, 2007 - 06:56 AM UTC

Quoted Text