_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Getting work published.....Help!
Beaver22
Visit this Community
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
entire network: 263 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 11, 2007 - 10:36 PM UTC
Hi there

I am a 23 year old model maker from the midlands area. I have been building for over 10 years and am very eager to get some of my work published. I have started writing articles and tech guides for practice and love the idea of being able to pass on some of my knowledge to others.

How do I start getting some of my work in print. I am joining IPMS ASAP and am looking forward to Modelkraft on the 4th Feb where I hope to make some new friends and contacts.

Plesae help.

Stuart
Stratford Upon Avon
Pedro
Visit this Community
Wojewodztwo Pomorskie, Poland
entire network: 1,208 Posts
KitMaker Network: 88 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 11, 2007 - 11:00 PM UTC
I guess you're on the right path.
Basically you have just to get in contact with editor of some modeling mag and show him some samples of your works and writing skills.
I've just got my first build article published, and it feels great I can tell you. In my case the editor saw one of my works on the Big A and contacted me. After that w've met on a contest and so it took off.

Good luck in getting your works published!
Greg
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 11,718 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,584 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 11, 2007 - 11:30 PM UTC
It depends on the print media - magazine or book.

Magazines have a contact number/email you can submit work too. It can be tough becuase they have 'regular contributors'. Plus with the production cycle being quite far in advance it can be tough to break in.