Soldier Stories
Served in the military? Discuss your time and experiences here.
Hosted by Dave Willett
American Legion Cdr credentials questioned
Sabot
entire network: 12,596 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,557 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 04, 2006 - 02:02 AM UTC
Saw this online. The current American Legion commander refers to himself as a "Vietnam Veteran" but only served at Ft. Dix, NJ from 1972-74. This would make him a Vietnam era veteran, but not a Vietnam vet.

I guess using this logic I could consider myself a Grenada, Panama, Somalia, Kosovo, Afghanistan, etc. veteran because I served in the same "eras". Although I am a DS veteran, I do not consider myself an Iraq veteran. That would confuse the distinction between a 1990-91 vet and a 2002-06+ vet.

Your thoughts?

Credentials Questioned
redneck
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 1,602 Posts
KitMaker Network: 447 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 04, 2006 - 02:44 AM UTC
Robin I understand what your saying but thinking about it I’m not sure what my opinion is.

My Grandfather considers himself a veteran of the Korean War yet was never to Korea.
During the war he was called back into service by the navy and sent to a base on the west coast where he work on parts for the ships that were being sent over.
Later he was transferred to a ship that was preparing to go to Korea but then it was transferred to the Atlantic fleet.
Considering he was called back into service to help the war effort I consider him a veteran of that war.

Of course I also really wouldn’t call everyone in the military now as veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan.

Sabot
Posted: Monday, December 04, 2006 - 03:13 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Of course I also really wouldn’t call everyone in the military now as veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan.