_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
handpainting vs air brushing .
StUkaWang
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
entire network: 28 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 02, 2003 - 02:13 AM UTC
1. anyone knows how to handpaint camoflauge patterns on armoured vehicles? I am still a beginner.
Thanks
2. Another big problem with handpainting models is the ugly watermarks left on the model after the paint dries. Does anyone know how to avoid and repair them ?
Many thanks
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 02, 2003 - 02:47 AM UTC

Quoted Text

anyone knows how to handpaint camoflauge patterns on armoured vehicles? I am still a beginner.
Thanks

Depending on your artistic talent...
1. If you're good at visually transferring information, get you references, start with the base color. Add the next darker color and then the last color. Let your paint fully cure between applications, at least 72 hour or the new paint will start to lift the older.
2. If you're slightly less artistically proficient, paint the base color, lightly draw the outline of the next darker color, paint it in. Then do the same with the next darker color. Remember ro let your paint fully cure as mentioned above.