History Club
Military history and past events only. Rants or inflamitory comments will be removed.
Hosted by Frank Amato
I'm no expert but......
Grumpyoldman
Staff MemberConsigliere
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 15,338 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5,072 Posts
Posted: Thursday, March 09, 2006 - 09:57 AM UTC
In all honesty, all the narrator does is read what's been written for him to read. Blame the writer, researcher, and film editors, for not getting it right. Your 11 year old son probably knows more about the subject than the narrator.
Halfyank
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
entire network: 5,221 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,983 Posts
Posted: Thursday, March 09, 2006 - 10:05 AM UTC
I would say blame the film editor. It seems that most of the time they pull a film clip out of a hat and that's what goes in. I've seen the same film clip used in the same show several times, with it being called something different each time.

Don't totally blame THC though. On another forum I hung out a poster showed a photo of an heritage flight that cleary showed a P-40 and a A-10, with the caption mentioning it was a P-51 and an A-10. The source for this photo? The United States Air Force!

Frankly I never knew the AVG didn't face Zeros. I knew they normally faced the older Japanese planes, what were they, Claudes? I just thought they would have gone up against the Zero as well once in a while.

AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Thursday, March 09, 2006 - 10:05 AM UTC
What Dave said.
There have been History "documentaries" talking about the Med and showing B-29's taking off.