_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Vanize Intro
vanize
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 1,954 Posts
KitMaker Network: 121 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 09, 2006 - 07:50 AM UTC
Hello all,

I have been modeling on and off since I was 4 or 5 years old - so more than 30 years now!

(lord, how did that happen?!?)

I took off the standard teenage "I'm too cool for that now" years, but got back into it by my early 20s. In the last few years I have not done much as I have been busy working in South Africa and Germany, but now I am getting settled back in the States, and once again have access to all my kits and supplies that I've had in storage since 2002. yeay!

I am a broad spectrum military modeler sans ships, but concentrate on 1/48th and 1/35 scales. I dabble a small bit in sci-fi and spacecraft models too (a concession to my Ph.D in space physics). I love pre- and early-WWII subjects (as in just before and the first couple years), both flying and ground bound. I am also fond of early jets and x-planes. SPGs fascinate me for some reason, as do small tanks. But then again - almost anything can catch my fancy and make me build it under the right conditions.

I just moved to Boulder, Colorado (nice town, fantastic weather) from Berlin, Germany (awesome city, horrible weather!) to be with my lovely girlfriend, who just happens to be getting very interested in scale modeling herself - eat your heart out the rest of you!!! I was formerly a research scientist, but i am now taking some time off, putting some serious thought into a career change, and just relaxing with some new model kits for now.

I'll post some pictures of my work in the future after i retrieve my surviving build-ups from the hobby shop that has been kind enough to display and take care of them for me these last 3 years (insert shameless plug for Hobby Island in Houston, Texas - they are wonderful!)