_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
What exactly is weathering?
Invitro
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
entire network: 23 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Monday, January 23, 2006 - 04:18 AM UTC
K, this is the deal gentlemen (and women?):

Ive been painting for a few years, on and off, and I find it very enjoyable. Since Ive worked for Games Workshop I still have a basment filled with unpainted miniatures (much to my fiances dissmay) but Ive never really taken the leaps and bounds that my friends hav in developing my skills.

However, Im about to buy my first airbrush as I think that will make me enjoy the painting process alot more. But as I look at my models and at the models posted here on the site I realise that all my models miss one important thing:

Weathering
All my models are plain, and very very clean, like they are fresh of the factory line and that kind of bites. However, Ive never actually understood HOW to weather, nor what is used to do it! Are there some special paints or items? Ive failed to find a good page with lots of pics to help me out so any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Also, if someone could post links to the weathering tools needed Id be very very grateful.

My first project will be a tank in the colors of the NVA Airforce since I think it looks awesome and I would like to see what it would look like on a ground veichle. (link to the camo patter: http://www.geocities.com./alvmaia/Mig/17f/17Fviet3.gif)

So, if your reading this, THANK YOU for takin the time to see what I need help with, and if you can point me in the right direction, superb and thx, if not, thx for reading anyway!

//Chriss
Erik67
Visit this Community
Buskerud, Norway
entire network: 1,871 Posts
KitMaker Network: 376 Posts
Posted: Monday, January 23, 2006 - 04:24 AM UTC
There are several articles about weathering in the armor forum. Check it out here

Erik
jazza
Visit this Community