First model show - looking for pointers
Marty
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 2,312 Posts
KitMaker Network: 871 Posts
Posted: Monday, September 12, 2005 - 02:11 PM UTC
Hey guys,

I am planning to enter some figures in the upcoming AMPS East model show. Since I have never done this before I am not sure what to expect. Do any of you have any pointers you could share with me?
Visit this Community
Vermont, United States
entire network: 2,220 Posts
KitMaker Network: 336 Posts
Posted: Monday, September 12, 2005 - 02:22 PM UTC
Sure, just make sure on the entry form to check the boxes of what extra catagories you want to compete in. If you don't check them, they will not consider you for that prize. IE best allied, axis, theme award, etc. Other than that have fun, and bring a small flashlight, the lighting in the armory stinks big time!

cya there!
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Monday, September 12, 2005 - 03:16 PM UTC
One of the beauties of AMPS is open judging. You get rewarded for the quality of your work, regardless of what or who else shows up. As John said above. lighting is way less than ideal.
Figures go right on the table, other categories are judged by the judging team in a separate room. You might want to volunteer an hour as a judge. This is one of the best venues to learn the skill. You'll work with trhee others and rate models on several categories giving 0-3 points. You get to discuss the model more freely since it's isolated. The low score is tossed and the rest averaged.
Don't enter as a novice, the best you can get is a bronze. My friend John (EasyOff) did that a couple years ago and was told afterwards he'd have gotten a gold medal if he was in the next class up.
You're likely to get to see an Abrams up close and personal and talk to the crew, maybe even crawl all over it.