Discuss general weathering topics here.
Winter Cammo
ant88
Visit this Community
Rhode Island, United States
entire network: 225 Posts
KitMaker Network: 36 Posts
Posted: Friday, September 02, 2005 - 09:49 AM UTC
I need some help with winter cammo. Ive posted before but didnt get much feedback. Any techniques that you can share would help. I was thinking about powders but...

Bk27
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
entire network: 92 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Friday, September 02, 2005 - 10:11 AM UTC
I hope it helps
[url=http://www.ipmsstockholm.org/helpdesk.asp[/url]
Erik67
Visit this Community
Buskerud, Norway
entire network: 1,871 Posts
KitMaker Network: 376 Posts
Posted: Friday, September 02, 2005 - 10:11 AM UTC
Well, I'm no expert on winter camo on models, but on "the real thing" we use a white wash. I.e. on a three color camoflage scheme the black or darkest colour should be over painted with a whitewash. You could probably replicate the whitewash with diluted white acrylics.

Erik
ant88
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, September 02, 2005 - 11:54 AM UTC
Thanks bk47 yes it does
jazza
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
entire network: 2,709 Posts
Posted: Saturday, September 03, 2005 - 10:58 AM UTC
Hope you get more response this time round Anthony. Apart from pigment powder which i mentioned you in last thread, another method i have observed been used really effectively is using the airbrush and thinning down the white colour and spraying it from a distance to get a more spread effect. I noticed this is essential as snow never concentrates on a certain area of a model unless you hope to see pockets of snow residue depicting the model having been out in the snow in a stationary position.

I guess the real question is, do you want to have a textured look to your winter cammo or a more flat look. Pigment allows you to achieve the former while airbrushing achieves the latter.