_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Ceramic Buildings
miami68
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 2 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 07, 2005 - 09:28 AM UTC
I just purchased a "Ruined Gathaus" from Verlinden for my Panzer IV diorama. The problem is that I have never worked with ceramics before. How much diiferent is it than styrene? How do I bond it and paint it? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Hwa-Rang
Visit this Community
Kobenhavn, Denmark
entire network: 6,760 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,139 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 07, 2005 - 10:09 AM UTC
Hi Matthew

First of all. Welcome to Armorama.

I have never worked with styrene sheets nor do I have any experience, with Verlinden ceramics buildings, but I asume, the buildings are of the same material as their figure bases. Since the ceramics material is much like plaster and styrene sheets is plastic, there are a big diferrence between the two. To bond the ceramics I have used white glue(Sometimes dilluted) or superglue. Just glue it before you paint it.
When painting your buildings, I would recommend, you basecoat it first, since the ceramics work like a sponge and "eat" a lot of paint. Any kind of paint should do.
I hope this will help you.
Marty
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 2,312 Posts
KitMaker Network: 871 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 07, 2005 - 10:17 AM UTC
You can also use two-part epoxy to bond the ceramic parts together.
miami68
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 2 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 07, 2005 - 12:30 PM UTC
Thanks for the help and the welcome...I love this place!!
DRAGONWAGON
Visit this Community
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
entire network: 1,041 Posts
KitMaker Network: 298 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 07, 2005 - 06:19 PM UTC
Hey Matthew,

Since I'm very new at dio-making am I not sure if I'm completely correct on this matter.