_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Artist's Oil Washes
Bribo
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
entire network: 205 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 08, 2002 - 03:36 AM UTC
I've seen a lot of references to washing armor with artist's oil. I was wondering what everyone uses to thin the paints to make the wash. I'm fairly new to the hobby, and any help/hints you all have would be great!
Thanks
Bribo
Tin_Can
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 1,560 Posts
KitMaker Network: 344 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 08, 2002 - 03:44 AM UTC
Bribo, welcome to ArmoramA...the BEST modelling site on the internet!

To make my oil washes, I thin the oil's with odorless mineral spirits to the consistency that the wash looks like dirty water. Typically I'll use a burnt umber oil for the wash.
otto
Visit this Community
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
entire network: 72 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 08, 2002 - 03:46 AM UTC
I use a product called turpenoid. It is odorless as well. Hope this helps.....Otto
Bribo
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
Posted: Thursday, August 08, 2002 - 04:50 AM UTC
Thanks for the help. This is a great site.
Abrams101
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 146 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 08, 2002 - 07:30 AM UTC
WElcome to armorama Bribo, If your useing artist oils to wash , I would suggest useing japan drier for the thin. It dries quick and thins beutifully. thats what I use anyway, And I love it.
Bribo
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
Posted: Thursday, August 08, 2002 - 08:06 AM UTC
Hey, Sully, I dont mean to be dense, but what is japan drier? I dont think I've ever heard of that before. Is that the brand name? Thanks for replying, I'll take all the advice I can get!
Bribo
screamingeagle
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
entire network: 1,027 Posts
KitMaker Network: 269 Posts