_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Those paints...
jaseperrin
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 8 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 22, 2004 - 12:48 PM UTC
You know those acrylic paints found in Michael's and Hobbylobby that are $.44 and come in those plastic squeeze bottles? Are those okay to use with models and figures? Or, am I requred to spend $2.00 a bottle on every color I need? Also, what do you recommend mixing colors in? I'm new to painting figures and I need to mix colors, but I don't know whether to do it on a paper plate (it dries before I can use all of it up). What is a good way to mix the paints. (I'm using enamels--Testors). Thanks for the advice!
- Jason
Grumpyoldman
Staff MemberConsigliere
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 15,338 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5,072 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 22, 2004 - 01:15 PM UTC
I use those 50 cent acrylics for my ground work, cheap easy to use, and easy to mix the colors I need. Haven't tried them for models or figures, but for a half buck a bottle, you can't beat them.
Paul
Visit this Community
Kharkiv, Ukraine / Україна
entire network: 705 Posts
Posted: Sunday, August 22, 2004 - 01:22 PM UTC
I use Mars Black from a squeeze bottle, that's the only color that I got from AC Moore. The paint is very thick and needs thinning - if you can thin these paints all right than it's a fair value for airbrushing. The only drawback for me is that these paints don't stick to plastic as well as model paints.

P.S. It was just this week that I airbrushed the tracks for my ASU-85 with this paint and when on the next day I went to drybrush them, the black paint actually came off! So it's up to you weather you want to use these paints or not, Grumpy's idea of using them for dio bases sounds good to me.
Easy_Co
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,933 Posts