History Club
Military history and past events only. Rants or inflamitory comments will be removed.
Hosted by Frank Amato
Blood & Guts
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 6,705 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,084 Posts
Posted: Monday, August 16, 2004 - 05:44 PM UTC
I am fairly new to the Armorama community, and few know me yet, but as a military freak and freelance writer, I will post a different quote from one of the greatest men of all history,Gen. George S. Patton Jr. daily... I hope to enlighten those that have not studied the man with these posts. Model on, troops!!

Gunny

Discipline, which is but mutual trust and confidence, is the key to all success in peace and war.
General George S. Patton Jr.
TheRedBaron
Visit this Community
Kildare, Ireland
entire network: 88 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Monday, August 16, 2004 - 06:10 PM UTC

Quoted Text

one of the greatest men of all history,Gen. George S. Patton Jr.

Hmmm...

This would be the Patton that slapped a patient in a military hospital, left Nazi party officials in power in Bavaria and advocated attacking the USSR. Rather overated as a General in my opinion, like Rommel and Monty, but his willingness to attack the USSR in 1945 seems a little worrying...

After the second incident with a shellshocked soldier in a hospital, Eisenhower said to one of his senior officers 'If this thing ever gets out, they'll be howling for Patton's scalp, and that will be the end of George's service in this war.'

My favourite Patton quote is the one made to a German soldier who was the sign writer at his HQ, it went...

"We got no bug with the Germans, the Russians are our real enemy..."

or...

"This Nazi thing. It's just like a Democratic-Republican election fight."

Still he was alot better than most of the Generals, look at Fredenhall who he replaced after Kasserine!
greatbrit
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
entire network: 2,127 Posts
KitMaker Network: 677 Posts