_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Decal Method for Tamiya Decals
armorguy
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 269 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Friday, June 25, 2004 - 03:29 AM UTC
Hi, everyone. This is my first time posting. I recently got back into modeling after not having done any models since I was a teenager. Now I remember a little about what got me out of it the first time around...decals! Decals have always been frustrating to me. So, I've got a couple of questions. First, I've read that applying some sort of gloss coat first will help out a bunch with applying the decals. I'm not really up for using the "Future" (I think that's what it's called. Isn't that floor polish?) So, is it safe to just use a spray can of something like Testors Gloss Coat? Okay, if the first part of this is true, then maybe I can just apply a matte coat after applying the decals. Is this true? Next, for the standard decals that come with Tamiya models, what is the best way to apply them to the model after the gloss coat? Do you use water to soak them in? How long do you soak them? Do you use any other kinds of decal products? I saw some kind of Testors decal solutions at the hobby store, but from reading the instructions on the cans, it looked like they were just for decals that you've printed yourself from a printer onto that special decal paper. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.
GunTruck
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 5,885 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,405 Posts
Posted: Friday, June 25, 2004 - 03:36 AM UTC
Welcome to Armorama!

Yes, certainly, you can use a lacquer-based gloss coat instead of Future Floor Finish. I switch back and forth all of the time. It is good to use with Tamiya "thick" armor decals.