_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!: Armor/AFV
This is a group for armor scratchbuilding questions, topics and projects.
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
scratchbuilding figures?
Mech-Maniac
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 2,240 Posts
KitMaker Network: 730 Posts
Posted: Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 01:07 PM UTC
anyone want to fill me in on how i could scratch build a figure? i've always wanted to try, but havnt got around to it (dont have much knowledge as i am new to scratchbuilding)
HunterCottage
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
entire network: 1,717 Posts
KitMaker Network: 590 Posts
Posted: Monday, June 14, 2004 - 06:59 AM UTC
There are several ways to attempt figure scratchbuilding.

1) Starting from scratch (ha, no pun intended) there are good books on this subject. A daunting task in my opinion...

2) Taking a part or parts from a kit and scratch-making the rest of the figure. Something I've done with limited success.

2) Kit bashing. Start with a figure and inter-change parts untill you get the figure you want. My main way of getting the figure I want.

I'm sure others could add many different versions of the above mentioned three, but I would venture a guess that these are the main ways to custom figures. If I remember correctly there are several "how-to" articles available, but haven't located them... but I hope this helps anyhow...
Mech-Maniac
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 2,240 Posts
KitMaker Network: 730 Posts
Posted: Monday, June 14, 2004 - 07:13 AM UTC
yes, it does actually help a bit, i've been kind of weary on the interchanging of parts...but i guess i'll give it a shot
warthog
Visit this Community
Metro Manila, Philippines
entire network: 1,460 Posts
KitMaker Network: 366 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 16, 2004 - 04:05 PM UTC
Mech-Maniac: Try this site http://home.planet.nl/%7eklink244/mcr.htm. Its one of the best sites I've seen about figure scratchbuilding
HunterCottage
Visit this Community