_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Carrying extra gas cans ?
straightedge
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
entire network: 1,352 Posts
KitMaker Network: 571 Posts
Posted: Saturday, June 12, 2004 - 10:20 PM UTC
Now I know they carried some, but I have seen some models where they had gas cans lined up all the way around the main gun on some vehicles.
Now if I was a soldier back then that would scare me to death, to have all them bombs so easy to hit, to set me on fire.
A enemy bullet hit one of them cans, and they will all go, now I would imagine they had to have some exposed, but I'd think if they would carry more then that, they would have them in a safer place as to not to be exposed to a sniper, wouldn't you.
That gas cans wouldn't seem to be the extra item to have extra of on a vehicle moving with a big gun.
I don't know what do you think?
sgirty
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
entire network: 1,315 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Saturday, June 12, 2004 - 10:34 PM UTC
Hi, Understand what you mean here straightedge, and I can remember seeing a photo of a Panzer III somewhere or other with these cans all lined up on the turret top just above the gun. Like you said, this would be kind of a dumb place to put extra gas. On second thought I wonder if these cans carried in such an exposed position(s) as this weren't for carrying extra water instead of gas?

Just a thought here.

Take care, Sgirty
brandydoguk
Visit this Community
England - North, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,495 Posts
Posted: Saturday, June 12, 2004 - 10:44 PM UTC
Maybe they were full of sand for a bit of added protection?
DaveCox
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
entire network: 4,307 Posts
KitMaker Network: 788 Posts
Posted: Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 12:50 AM UTC