_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hello modellers.
flitzer
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
entire network: 2,240 Posts
KitMaker Network: 677 Posts
Posted: Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 10:08 PM UTC
Greetings to all.
Like others, I found the Introduction section late, so I offer my apologies and hope you think better late than never.

My real name is Peter Allen and I am currently working in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, as a creative director in an advertising agency. My home town is Wigan in the north of England.
I’m married to Emily, a Polish lass who tolerates my modelling well.
I’ve been working around the Arabian Gulf since 1982, having spells in Bahrain (a great little place) and Dubai.

On and off, I’ve been modelling since I was 6 and have covered most subjects as a youngster. My Dad bought me my first kit shortly before he died, so it was my Mother who helped me.

I did have a long phase during the eighties doing racing cars, F1 and Le Mans and still have an extensive stash of these back in UK which I will take up again on my permanent return.

But I have always done WW2 aircraft and got turned on to Luft 46 stuff, termed experimental then, when I came across a book, which I can’t remember the title of, back in the sixties at the local library. I was hooked and still am.
Maybe as a graphic designer and interested in design in general , I’m drawn to the conceptual element.

Today the standard I achieve is adequate under the circumstances in which I build. Like many, my facilities here are skimpy to say the least.
Accommodation is minimal from a modelling point of view. I usually build on the coffee table and airbrush outside on the patio. What would I not give for the eyesight and steady hand of my youth today.
But the need to model surpasses all.