_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Uh hi
ArrowRL201
Visit this Community
Canada
entire network: 12 Posts
KitMaker Network: 12 Posts
Posted: Sunday, January 11, 2015 - 01:32 AM UTC
Hi people, I'm a postgrad student now with a big dream. I've built models in the past (the largest being CVN-65; built at age 13 with my dad). Have also played video games for a long time, and over the years I've come to a massive collection of favourites from different time periods.

Me being an utter sap for completionism, I would ultimately like to have a collection for all of my favourite aircraft, AFVs, and warships. This is obviously a long-term project I don't intend to complete anytime soon (hell I'm still trying to find a job, so I can't buy any models yet anyway) but I figured I would need help if I was going to finish a project of this magnitude.

So yeah. I registered here.

I even made an excel spreadsheet of what I would want, but there's a trickier part that I haven't mentioned yet...

Anyway yeah. I need help with getting a model collection going, so here I am. =P

P.S: A cookie to Canadians/aviation enthusiasts who know where my callsign comes from.
JClapp
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 2,265 Posts
KitMaker Network: 225 Posts
Posted: Sunday, January 11, 2015 - 02:12 AM UTC
hello JKam, welcome aboard. Its good to have vision, and a plan. Its good that you are not in a hurry to complete your collection. plastic kits and glue are easy to come by, but time can be a real challenge. The other thing you will soon find you need more of is shelf space.

from a time and storage space perspective, a simple axiom is the smaller the scale the more models you can have.

best luck, enjoy, ask questions!
ArrowRL201
Visit this Community
Canada
Posted: Sunday, January 11, 2015 - 02:39 AM UTC