_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Art or hobby?
PorkChop
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
entire network: 3,179 Posts
KitMaker Network: 307 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 21, 2003 - 11:56 AM UTC
Now I'm no artist so maybe this statement is way off the mark, but I think what we all do here is an artform.
I look at all the fantastic and creative work people on this site do in amazement. For instance; Gray Wolf's conversion of figures to Dutch resistance and Envars Yugo sniper diorama really push this pastime into another realm. Take a look at MongoMels or AJs busts and Animal's and Roo's trucks, I say art.
What do you say?
Nailz
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
entire network: 57 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 21, 2003 - 12:05 PM UTC
I'd absolutely agree with you. I would say that we are all lucky to have a hobby that produces art, our canvas just happens to be plastic and resin.....
sgirty
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
entire network: 1,315 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 21, 2003 - 12:21 PM UTC
Hi. I think it just depends on how one looks at it. After all, the many different items made by the Native American people that a lot of modern Americans today consider art-forms, and thusly pay big money to own, was looked at by the 'people' as just day-to-day items used in their life. Made simply to give honor to their religious ceremonies or to spruce up their daily tools and clothing, and that was all.

But like you say Porckchop, there are many models and dioramas that I'ven seen here and on other sites that I would consider an 'art form' if anything in the modeling world would be considered as such. They are nothing short of totally amazing. Plus the research that goes along with the building of these kits, also adds to the pleasure as well.