_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
First time with Photo Etched
drewgimpy
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
entire network: 835 Posts
KitMaker Network: 350 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 15, 2002 - 06:30 AM UTC
I just got my first PE kit ever. I have never used it before. I am ordering one of the small shops hold and folds because I have a feeling I will be using more of the stuff. Anyway, I could use any advice anyone has on preping for paint or just general ideas to make it turn out well. Thanks all.
BillyBishop
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
entire network: 347 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 15, 2002 - 07:06 AM UTC
I second this thread. I myself just received my first photo etch brass for my Panzer 38(t) and from what (little) I know picked up on various sites:

you need a good cutting surface (some use aluminum sheet some use ceramic tiles).

You need a good set of clippers/cutters so you get a clean cut (some use hobby blades but they dull quickly).

Some back the brass with masking tape so the pieces don't fly off in the air ( "with the greatest of ease")

Now I don't own a "bending tool" so I would be up for advice in this area.

Hmm a cyanoacrylate for glueing pieces...

Anything else peeps?

MSW

Go Leafs GO!!!
AndersHeintz
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 2,250 Posts
KitMaker Network: 266 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 15, 2002 - 12:30 PM UTC
A good set of tweezers and a ton of patience!
sourkraut
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
entire network: 602 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 15, 2002 - 12:40 PM UTC
PE really adds to the detail,but you need to becareful how you handle it.
as it bends real easy
screamingeagle
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
entire network: 1,027 Posts
KitMaker Network: 269 Posts
Posted: Thursday, May 16, 2002 - 01:45 AM UTC
Hi Andrew. Ahhhhhhhhhh ! - Welcome to the PE Zone !