History Club
Military history and past events only. Rants or inflamitory comments will be removed.
Hosted by Frank Amato
The land of the desending dragon
collin26
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
entire network: 317 Posts
KitMaker Network: 56 Posts
Posted: Thursday, May 06, 2010 - 03:14 PM UTC
Hello all,
I am new to this area of the forum. I am a 25 year student of S.E. Asian history. This is more focused on politics and cultural history but is strongly suited In the civil war of the 60's and 70's that the U.S.A. took part in and the war of independance from French Colonialization. Also, all other conflicts in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos's past. I AM NOT A VETERAN! I am a historian. I am also a modeller. I would love to entertain conversations on the subject. Please ask questions or start a debate. But please, nothing that is derogetory or insulting to our former allies -or- adversaries in S.E.Asia.
youngc
Visit this Community
Western Australia, Australia
entire network: 2,166 Posts
KitMaker Network: 473 Posts
Posted: Thursday, May 06, 2010 - 04:32 PM UTC
Nice to see you here Iain.

The First Indochina War seems to me as one of the most peculiar wars fought during the 20th century. I would love to learn more about it.

The French were driven out by the Japanese in 1942, I presume? I would like to read up on these military actions. Why did they decide to reoccupy in 1946 and why was it worth an 8 year war? What did the French want there!

Chas
collin26
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, May 07, 2010 - 01:04 AM UTC
Chas,