Local, Regional, or International.
A Question About Judging
GSPatton
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 1,411 Posts
KitMaker Network: 785 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - 11:51 AM UTC
Last weekend I went to an IPMS model show with models in tow. I will be the first to admit I am an OK modeler, not a great modeler. This is not a rant on why I didn't win - it's more of a question on an observation.

I entered several models and 3 different catagories. Armored vehicles, small dioramas and figures.

After the judging was concluded and winners announced the same guys kept being called up to accept their awards. These are guys who enter not one or two models but about 8-10 in multiple catagories. Year after year I hear their names called and to be honest I am a bit olive drab about it.

Has it been anyone's experience in a contest where it makes you wonder why ?
GunTruck
Visit this Community
entire network: 5,885 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,405 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - 12:01 PM UTC
All the time...

It's the "Human Element" of any/all Model Contests.
DonFlynn
entire network: 38 Posts
KitMaker Network: 35 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - 05:16 PM UTC
Trouble is for some modelers its about the contest, they build for that and will shotgun a category, if they have good stuff then unless a contest has a no sweep or limited sweep rule they better the odds for themselves.

Most contests I know are moving ot no/limited sweeps. Here at the contest I run (Cincinnati Scale Modelers, this Oct 18th ) we have a limited sweep rule (modeler can only win 2 in a category) plus we limit our own members to 1 entry per category.
Uruk-Hai
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
entire network: 795 Posts
KitMaker Network: 109 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - 09:38 PM UTC
Are we talking an "Open" system in rewards?
Also is the "no sweep" used in competiions with an "Open" system?

Cheers
GSPatton
Visit this Community