Soldier Stories
Served in the military? Discuss your time and experiences here.
Hosted by Dave Willett
any one been to somalia?
MSGsummit
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
entire network: 751 Posts
KitMaker Network: 175 Posts
Posted: Friday, March 14, 2003 - 08:49 AM UTC
Hey my names art. I'm a sergeant first class in the army. Been in the army for 8 years now. Before that I spent four years in the Marine Corps as an amphibious assault crewman on LVTP7A1's. Currently I'm an M1 Abrams mechanic. I've done two tours in the Persian Gulf. Landed in Somalia and assaulted about a thousand reporters, and patroled the borders of Macedonia. By the look of things, looks like I'm gonna have the great privilage of a third tour of the Persian Gulf real soon. Anyway, looking forward to being a member of this forum.
2-2dragoon
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
entire network: 608 Posts
KitMaker Network: 171 Posts
Posted: Friday, March 14, 2003 - 09:02 AM UTC
Welcome, Marine, we can always use you active duty types to keep us straight on what is currently happening out there. I have not been on a tank in over 20 years, so I am a little dated. Guys on M1's are in demand, as it seems most of us armor modellers end up building one eventually!
Wolf-Leader
Visit this Community
New Hampshire, United States
entire network: 1,225 Posts
KitMaker Network: 463 Posts
Posted: Thursday, March 20, 2003 - 06:21 AM UTC
SFCSummit,
Hi and welcome. My name is Jody aka wolf-leader and my unit was in somalia [75th Rangers] unfortunately I had got out of the army in 1982. But like all Rangers once a Ranger Always a Ranger. My last duty station was in Ft. Benning with the 75th Rangers. Even though I was not with them in Somalia my heart was very much with them. I hope this answers your question.
MSGsummit
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
entire network: 751 Posts
KitMaker Network: 175 Posts
Posted: Thursday, March 20, 2003 - 07:37 AM UTC
Jody,