_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
paint buying
robschell
entire network: 18 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 14, 2007 - 07:47 AM UTC
New to the hobby and was wondering where and what is the best way to buy paint to keep costs down?

Do most of you buy paint colors individually or are their paint sets or kits available some place?

Im having a hard time finding certain paints such as flesh colored as well as a few others.

Anyone have a favorite place to order paint from?

Also, like I said Im very new to this hobby and really dont have much experience at all when it comes to art or painting but feel with pratice I could easily learn. Through trial and error and experimenting I have concluded that enamle paint seems to go on figures thinker than acrylic does. Is paint chemistry all a matter of preferance or being new should I be using one or the other at first?

Doh! I have tons of questions but with leave it at this for now. TIA for the help and info!

Regards,
RS.
Halfyank
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
entire network: 5,221 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,983 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 14, 2007 - 11:05 AM UTC
One thing I can recommend RS, especially if you're going to be doing any diorama building is to try the cheap acrylic paints you can get at places like Wal-Mart or Hobby Lobby. You don't say where you live so I don't know if you have those near you, but you prop ably have stores that carry them. These normally go for under $1.00 for about 2 oz of paint, compared to about $3.50 for 1/2 oz of "model" paint. You won't find anything listed as "Panzer Yellow" or such, but you can sometimes get pretty close. You can also mix them to come up with your own colors. It sure beats paying full price for model paint.

matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 5,957 Posts