Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
Making a mold for plaster of paris
tylusfaust
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
entire network: 371 Posts
KitMaker Network: 25 Posts
Posted: Sunday, March 04, 2007 - 05:37 AM UTC
OK, I'm really new to molding and plaster of paris, but I'm looking at making a mold for plaster of paris so that I can make multiple plaster of paris groundworks from it.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for the right "mold" materials and perhaps even a technique. Do I start with a plastic/rubber mold? Can I make a plaster mold to actually mold more plaster in it or will they stick to each other?

Any advice or even point me to a good website would be great. Thanks.
redshirt
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 270 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 11:48 AM UTC
I hope you get some good responses, as I am interested in them too! After seeing some of the fantastic molding/casting and dioramas I went out and spent about $75 so far and have only made piles of goo! Though I have made some nice originals…..
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 11,718 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,584 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 04:53 PM UTC
Tons of ideas
Blister Packs
Legos
Kitchen foil
Silicon

Here are some features
Blister
Kitchen foil
Wall Building
Plasticbattle
Visit this Community
Donegal, Ireland
entire network: 9,763 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,351 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 07:12 PM UTC
Here a short article I wrote some time ago. Might give you some ideas
Casting a 3D wall

garthbender
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
entire network: 44 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 07:26 PM UTC
Hey,