Discuss general weathering topics here.
The poor mans AirBrush
TimberWolf
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 225 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 03:28 PM UTC
I dont have an airbrush yet (saveing up for one) so I was in a tight spot when it came time to weather my M2 Bradly.
The spay paint was applyed, deatial work all done, and deacals put on. . . Im ready to weather it so I thought to my-self "What would look good for weathering?"
Dry brushing came into my mind, but then I reailze im not that good at it. I want a realy good looking model, not some crudy 2 year old's toy.
Then I rememberd about an old techniqe my dad said worked on one of his models (built about 35 years ago)
He said to use a candel and let the smoke from it "stain" the model with black soot. I lighted up the candel and held my model about 5 inches from the flame directly above it (dont hold it to close or the tracks will melt OOPS ) and like he said the model started to look realy good (in my eyes)
I contuined with the process eventualy weathing the whole model with soot... I think it turned out great! :-) (pics coming soon) Also it works good for "greaseing" up the wheels and track.
Try it some time, you will like it
basturk
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
entire network: 212 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 03:59 PM UTC
Hey thats a new one to me...........Anyway it sounds like something i wouldn t want to try myself.......Im so clumsy that ill probably end up with a burning tank haha. Can't wait for the pictures!
GIBeregovoy
Visit this Community
Metro Manila, Philippines
entire network: 1,612 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,129 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 04:12 PM UTC