_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Where do I start...?
PaperPlate
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
entire network: 5 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 28, 2006 - 06:41 AM UTC
Where do I start...?

Well I guess I'll start by introducing myself. I am a 22 year old student at the University of Michigan in Dearborn and I am currently majoring in Education. I have very little background in model painting but I am looking to make an official start. My modeling history consists of two models; a $20 Gundam model and a 68' Pontiac Firebird I built for my father as a father's day gift several years ago. The Gundam model I painted by hand since it was something cheap (not even sure where it is now) and I knew little about the painting techniques. The model of the car was painted with a Paasche airbrush (believe that is the pack I bought) that I did not personally care that much for. It has been several years so I can not recall if I even thinned the paint when I painted the model. The color seems rather thick in some parts and not smooth as it should be. Understand this was my first encounter with an airbrush and I did not purchase (hey, I was a teenager) any sort of book explaining how to airbrush. I used Tamiya paints on the car model and I was happy with the variety of colors they had and how the model turned out for my skill level.