Spare Parts
For non-modeling topics and those without a home elsewhere.
problems with landlord and mold
spongya
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODELGEEK
Visit this Community
Budapest, Hungary
entire network: 2,365 Posts
KitMaker Network: 474 Posts
Posted: Thursday, September 28, 2006 - 11:15 PM UTC
Hi,
I've been doing a lot of research online, but can't find anybody who could help me, so I thought I might as well ask you guys.
The neigbour living upstairs soaked our bathroom 4 times in two years, and the water did result in mold growth in the drywall. I don't know how much, I don't know how dangerous is that particular mold, but neither does my landlord, and he refuses to have it investigated (all sources say a drywall usually needs to be changed if mold grows in it. He wants me to spray bleech on it -from the outside. When the stuff is clearly in the inside.) Mold can be really dangerous. I know, I'm a Biologist. What I don't know is how to asses the situation. I don't now if the drywall needs to be changed, and I don't know if my girlfriend and I are living in a place that has considerable health risk. There's no smell, though, and some discolorations can be seen on the ceiling. There are black cracks where the wall meets the ceiling; you can push a blade in there with no effort: it's rotting. But it's nothing like a huge patch of fungi in plain sight.

Anyway, I need two things: how do I get expert opinion on how dangerous the situation is? All the Health Department, and other goverment agencies claim they can't help, and Florida does not have any mold-related regulation. (Go figure.)
The other thing is how to make my landlord to perform his duties and maintain the apartman, to investigate the problem and if needed, change the drywall?