_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Wiring Spray Booth Exhaust Fan
trabbott
Visit this Community
South Dakota, United States
entire network: 31 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2006 - 01:50 AM UTC
Hello:

I have purchased the wood and supplies needed to begin constructing my spray booth, however now I have a question. As I was looking at the bathroom exhaust fans at the local diy store, it dawned on me that for the fan, there'll probably be just wires coming out of the fan. So, I need to wire a switch, and then somehow, power to the switch, i.e. a plug in. So, since I have zero electrical experience...can someone help me out?

While at the store, I looked at a simple light switch, which has three connector screws, and one green screw (the ground)? I noticed that I could purchase two different types of cord plug ins with exposed wires on one end, one was for a lamp replacement (had two wires), and one had three wires, seemed like a beefier cord, maybe 14/3 or something on the package? As I was thinking about the light switch, I wondered if I use something like that, how are all of the wires hidden or protected so my kids or something else doesn't come in contact since unlike normal walls, the switch isn't inside a box inside the wall?

Can someone provide me with some advice as to exactly what I need, and more importantly, some detailed instructions as to how to hook everything up?

Thank you for any and all assistance!!!
redneck
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 1,602 Posts
KitMaker Network: 447 Posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2006 - 01:56 AM UTC
I have a home made light box (For making copies of blueprints before I got the copier) that uses a lightswitch for a switch. You can see the wires in it so give me a few min and I’ll get you a picture of it.