_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Best Cutting Tool For PE?
Hellcat
Visit this Community
Barcelona, Spain / España
entire network: 22 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 11:19 AM UTC
I was wondering what you guys use to cut PE with? I just use my same tool from cutting parts off the sprews. but sometime it bends the PE.
Any ideas? Thanks
M4A1-M4A3
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
entire network: 78 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 11:31 AM UTC
Xuron make a cutter for PE, I also use a flat x-acto blade, on a piece of 2 inch x 2 inch steel mold, yes it wears the blade out but the cut is clean, and when the block of steel gets to many nicks in it I have it milled to remove them (it's cheap).
Hopes this helps
Oberst
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
entire network: 851 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 12:34 PM UTC
As it says in my signature, I am a PE expert (self proclaimed). Use a piece of flat, hard plastic as a base and then cut the PE from it's "spruce" with a sharp exacto blade.
Happy P.E.ing,
Andrew

Folgore
Visit this Community
Canada
entire network: 1,109 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 12:38 PM UTC
We had a bunch of spare ceramic tiles sitting in the storage closet, so I took a few and use them to cut on. They are very hard and work perfectly in conjunction with an X-acto knife. I actually prefer to use an old blade just because cutting pe tends to break the tips on new ones. I am, however, not a PE expert, self-proclaimed or otherwise, so don't take my word for gospel.

Nic
PLMP110
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
entire network: 1,318 Posts
KitMaker Network: 409 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 21, 2003 - 02:04 PM UTC
I rarely use PE, but on the rare occasion that I do, I use a pair of shears from a suture removal kit. Also can use a small pair of bandage shears.

Patrick
sgtsauer
Visit this Community
Missouri, United States