_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
resin hazard?
goatmonkey
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
entire network: 34 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Monday, July 10, 2006 - 10:49 PM UTC
I'm always hearing resin can be toxic and harmful. Don't sand it, don't breath the dust, don't eat the shavings, blah blah blah...

how precisely is it harmful? i'm following that the dust is harmful but so is most dust. is resin dust actually poisonous chemically or is it just because it's so fine that it clogs your lungs? is it safe to touch resin? is the dust harmful to skin?
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 11,718 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,584 Posts
Posted: Monday, July 10, 2006 - 11:27 PM UTC
I'm not a Doctor (but I played one in my 9th grade version of The Miracle Worker - really I did - 6 lines).

Handling it isn't that big a deal. I would get in the habit of washing your hands afterwards.
Breathing it is a different story. Long exposures to dust over time will not be good. I'm sure it will affect everyone slightly differently depeinding on your genetic makeup.

here is some interesting reading
Resin White Paper

Play it safe is my motto.
RedLeg
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
entire network: 746 Posts
Posted: Monday, July 10, 2006 - 11:27 PM UTC
I don't know if this answers your question fully but resin in its set(hardened form) is OK to handle but the dust is lethal AVOID breathing in, prolonged use will lead to all manner of ailments if the correct precautions are not taken i.e. ventilated room , mask e.t.c.

I am sure some one with a bit more detailed answer we be along but use this as a rule and there should be no problems.
hope this explains a little

redleg
RedLeg
Visit this Community
entire network: 746 Posts
Posted: Monday, July 10, 2006 - 11:28 PM UTC
oh well scott you beat me to it :-)

redleg
matt