_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
soldering help needed
godfather
Visit this Community
Canada
entire network: 817 Posts
KitMaker Network: 148 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 25, 2006 - 01:15 AM UTC
what items do I need to solder PE. I do know that a 30 watt iron with a thin tip is needed but what type of solder (silver etc) and flux should I get? Please be specfic as I have never done this stuff before. thanks.
Vadster
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
entire network: 987 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 25, 2006 - 01:36 AM UTC
how about this? get your solder-on
redneck
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 1,602 Posts
KitMaker Network: 447 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 25, 2006 - 01:48 AM UTC
Try to get normal solder. If I remember correctly silver solder will not melt with a iron plus its to expensive.
Also for doing PE the thinner the coil of solder the better. It will take less heat and not make as much of a mess.
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
entire network: 8,581 Posts
KitMaker Network: 963 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 26, 2006 - 12:38 AM UTC
Normal solder melts at around 180 degrees and silver solder at around 320 degrees. Solder will flow where the flux is. It will only flow when the 2 parts are at the temperature that the solder melts and only where there is flux.