_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
cheap-o airbrush
REMF11M
Visit this Community
Armed Forces Europe, United States
entire network: 181 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 02, 2003 - 02:06 AM UTC
What is everyone opion of the cheap (around $20) Testors airbrushes? I've never used one before and don't really want to drop alot of money on my first one.

Is this a good starter airbrush?
Delbert
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 2,659 Posts
KitMaker Network: 865 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 02, 2003 - 02:20 AM UTC
If it is the single action external mix that you can get at wal-mart, I will say it is ok for what it does.
which is basicly single color coat applications. Don't expect to do any freehand detailing with this one because you don't really get much control over the spray..

I got one last year when I started trying to learn to Airbrush and it gave me the basic's, but I got quickly frustrated by what it couldn't do.. So I tried to compensate by geting the detail airbrush at Wal-mart for $38 then a Aztek duel action airbrush.. but now I've got a new Badger 175 Cresendo and I will prob never use any of the testors or Aztek brushes again.

AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 02, 2003 - 02:36 AM UTC

Quoted Text

What is everyone opion of the cheap (around $20) Testors airbrushes? I've never used one before and don't really want to drop alot of money on my first one.