_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!: Armor/AFV
This is a group for armor scratchbuilding questions, topics and projects.
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
Plans? Do I need 'em?
YodaMan
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 1,561 Posts
KitMaker Network: 485 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 31, 2002 - 06:30 AM UTC
Hmm?
Since I'm new to this scratchbuilding thing, I've wondered: Do I need plans? (call them blueprints, line drawings, sketches, etc.)
I've got two ideas waiting to be modeled. The first one is that Kushan destroyer that I posted a picture of somewhere in the forums. The other one is a brand new speeder, designed in my brain for the sci-fi campaign.
Should I make plans for it? Should I just start building a part and go from there?
I guess this post is a roundabout way of asking, "What is the best way to scratchbuild something?"

YodaMan
GunTruck
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 5,885 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,405 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 31, 2002 - 06:46 AM UTC
YM - In my humble opinion, you need plans, even if simple ones sketched out on a scrap piece of paper. I feel without them, the end result will likely be disjointed, indicative of "making it up" as you go along. For some, that's great, but I subscribe to a different thought.

The best scratchbuilders (again, my opinion) are modelers who create work indistinguishable from a store-bought model kit. Aftermarket, mass-produced, metal, brass, styrofoam, whatever, all blended into a final product seamlessly. The observer shouldn't be able to tell where one ends and another begins. The better you get at this - the more "fun" the end result is for you and the observer.

That's what I aspire to when constructing and completing a model - scratchbuilt or not. But, I always think out and draw down what I intend to do with the project beforehand.

Gunnie
MrRoo
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
entire network: 3,856 Posts
KitMaker Network: 719 Posts