_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hi!
jantkowiak
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 113 Posts
KitMaker Network: 14 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 04, 2006 - 04:49 AM UTC
Hello!

I am fairly new to Armorama. I became active in the forums when production on my Omaha Beach diorama really got going. Boy, is it complicated - but the community here has been exceptionally helpful on a daily basis, either directly to me or indirectly in other people's forum topics or links to other modelers' completed projects. And the work here is nothing short of inspirational! It is so nice to see how others tackle some of the same issues that I'm dealing with. I do apologize in advance, though: I do from time to time say some pretty dumb things in these forums, but I usually have second thoughts later and go back to edit them. So if you see that I've made an idiot of myself and it's already been a few days since the post, well, there's always that possibility too!

I'm an active member of the National Capital Model Soldier Society (NCMSS), a DC-area figure painter club, and I also spend two or three weeks each summer as an instructor in the Smithsonian Institute's summer camp program for kids, co-teaching a class called "Soldiers & Dioramas" for kids. We use historical battles as a backdrop to teach hobby skills in terrain building and figure painting. (We also try to sneak some history lessons in when they're not looking!)