_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Newbie help please
Favorisio
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
entire network: 277 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Sunday, December 29, 2002 - 11:08 PM UTC
Hi All,
I used to build models (mainly aircraft) when I was young, but not seriously and I never did anything other than a straight out of box paint job. Now at 40+ I have more time (and money) to pursue the hobby properly. I have an interest in WWII and especially ETO post D Day. I am in the middle of building my first kit, a M-10 Tank Destroyer in 1/35th.

My question is very simple but far too broad - I need very general tips on building, and especially painting, bearing in mind I am a beginner. I don't have an airbrush and probably won't get one for a while. I am trying the drybrush technique, but don't really know how well it is working, and even if I'm doing it right!

Any help would be brilliant.
Thanks

PS Great site, I am gradually getting around it.
dioman
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
entire network: 485 Posts
Posted: Sunday, December 29, 2002 - 11:17 PM UTC
1st of all...welcome to armorama....there are a great bunch of guys and gals here that are more then willing to help.
2nd...your question....broad is right!!! May I suggest taking some time going through some of the posts from the past....say in armour and painting....I know some of the answers you're looking for are in there...as I have read them and answered some myself lately. Also check out some of the articles on the site.....I know you will find a few very helpful.
3rd....if you're getting dry brushing right or not....if you're happy with the outcome...it's right!!!
4th....glad you came over from aircraft to armour when you decided to come back!!!
Take your time....look around....ask questions....then get out the knife and glue.
FAUST
Visit this Community
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
entire network: 8,797 Posts