Spare Parts
For non-modeling topics and those without a home elsewhere.
Any NYPD Blue watchers??
Hisham
Visit this Community
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
entire network: 6,856 Posts
KitMaker Network: 276 Posts
Posted: Monday, February 27, 2006 - 06:03 PM UTC
This is a somewhat strange request for assistance. I work as a freelance translator/Subtitler for Showtime Arabia and am currently working on some episodes of NYPD. I keep coming across some jargon and terminology which I cannot understand, even though I lived in the States for 13 years. If any one out there knows this jargon, please help!

For example:

Some one asks about an officer and the reply is:

* She is on lost time
* Does she need lost time?
* No, she probably needs to catch the case.

Does lost time here refer to "time off due"? That's the only thing that came to my mind.

Ofcourse there are a lot of other things. This is just an example to see if someone knows anything about this kind of New York police jargon. Or is it made-up jargon?!

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out here.
entire network: 4,303 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Monday, February 27, 2006 - 11:06 PM UTC
Hisham,

I'm a BIG NYPD Blue addict. (Andy Sippowich for ever!)
I don't think it's made-up jargon. However, mostly I watch the serie with Dutch sub-titles... So, I'm not a big help with the New York 'slang', I'm afraid.

In what context took that conversation place?
Mostly it's depending on the situation.
By what I know now I would think she's working a case in her own time / over time, but when the context is clearer.
'Lost time' mostly means something like absence during work hours or a short leave.

'To catch the case' refers to finnishing or urgent working on the case.

Any NY-ers on the Big A who can help???

Paul
bison44
Visit this Community
Manitoba, Canada
entire network: 471 Posts
Posted: Monday, February 27, 2006 - 11:41 PM UTC