_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Model painting for absolute beginner
bung_chau
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
entire network: 4 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Saturday, January 28, 2006 - 05:12 PM UTC
Hello,

I was walking down the street one day and happened to walk past a model shop. Interested, I went in and about an hour later I came out totally hooked. Not only that but also with a box of figurines, a couple of paint brushes and a selection of paints. Can anyone recommend any books on scale model painting (hope that't the right terminology)? Thanks!

bung_chau
Darson
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 247 Posts
KitMaker Network: 53 Posts
Posted: Saturday, January 28, 2006 - 05:53 PM UTC
Hi there Jeremy and Welcome to Armorama

Without knowing what sort of figures and paint you've got I would recommend Osprey Modeling Manuals - Modeling WWII Figures which is not a bad guide.

However if these are your first figures you could do far worse than just following the painting directions on the box and forwarding any specific questions here.

Cheers
Darren
SKurj
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
entire network: 235 Posts
Posted: Saturday, January 28, 2006 - 07:56 PM UTC
If you are going to be painting them with acrylic paints, try this link. (Its in english)

http://www.ttfxmedia.com/vallejo/cgi-bin/_modelis.asp?p1=ing&p2=modelcolortecnicas
insolitus
Visit this Community
Goteborgs och Bohus, Sweden
entire network: 649 Posts
KitMaker Network: 113 Posts
Posted: Saturday, January 28, 2006 - 08:00 PM UTC
Welcome Jeremy!
Hmm... IŽm not that into modelling books, but I can sure recommend you to browse through this site! Also show your work here after you have made your first step and weŽll help you to improve if youŽd need that. What figures and what kind of paint did you buy?
Cheers Andreas