_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Panzer Camo
Salvo
Visit this Community
Armed Forces Pacific, United States
entire network: 311 Posts
KitMaker Network: 98 Posts
Posted: Friday, January 13, 2006 - 03:04 AM UTC
Quick question. I just got the base coat down on my tank and need some camo help. I have never done a camo pattern on a Panzer before and need some advice. Were the insides of the armor skirts also painted camo, or just the outside. I know most painting was done in the field have hazardly so I would assume that only outsides would be painted, but you know what happens when you assume. I thought I would ask the resident experts for help. Any info you guys have would be greatly appreciated.

Side note: Would the camo pattern on a Panzer III be hard edge or soft edge. I was going to use the random line pattern, but in 1/72 scale it could get very tedious.

Cheers,
Ryan
Grifter
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 608 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Friday, January 13, 2006 - 03:15 AM UTC
I'm sure only the oustide of armor skirts would have camo.....what would be the point of painting camo on something the enemy can't see?
As for the Pz III, I would think it would have a soft edged camo, painted in the field.
Blade48mrd
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
entire network: 1,185 Posts
KitMaker Network: 224 Posts
Posted: Friday, January 13, 2006 - 03:56 AM UTC
Ryan -