History Club
Military history and past events only. Rants or inflamitory comments will be removed.
Hosted by Frank Amato
Where have all the historians gone?
Ranger74
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
entire network: 1,290 Posts
KitMaker Network: 480 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 03:13 AM UTC
HULLOOOO! Anyone out there!!!!

I am just trying to find out what has happened to all of the historians (actually I just think of myself as a student of history). I hope I haven't chased anyone away.

Anyone can start another thread - I am working on another list of books for the eastern front thread.
Oberst
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
entire network: 851 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 04:55 AM UTC
I am a student of history myself
I almost always read history, usually WW2 but some others.
Ranger, have you read or heard of "The Gates Of the Alamo"
It is a great book, check it out

Andrew
Ranger74
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
Posted: Wednesday, December 04, 2002 - 04:14 PM UTC
Herr Oberst - I have not send this book. Is it, as the title suggests, about the Texas War for Independence, or something deeper? I have only read some overview histories of the Mexican-Texas war.

Jeff
mj
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
entire network: 1,331 Posts
KitMaker Network: 334 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 05, 2002 - 12:13 AM UTC
Hello Ranger. I think Historians are still around. They are probably just a little busy looking for good books to give out for Christmas.