Hosted by Matt Leese
Air Tank Vs. Air Compressor
zipperhead
Visit this Community
Canada
entire network: 27 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Sunday, December 01, 2002 - 05:57 PM UTC
I know this topic has been discussed before but I would like to know why people like an air tank compared to a compressor.
I'm new to modelling and decided to go with what I thought was the cheaper route. I got a 10gal air tank and the appropriate regulator/water trap with fittings. Total cost was about $100cdn. I'm spraying acrylic's at 15-20psi and I can only get about 2 good nights of spraying done before I'm too low and need to refill. Then I got to lug the tank and find a place to fill it ie.gas station. I've found alot of pumps won't fill to a reasonable 100psi or higher.
I've finally found a C&H FP2003 air compressor for $180cdn. It seems that everyone on the board seems to recommend this compressor.
I guess what I'm trying to say is if you're just starting out airbrushing, don't try and save money by going the air tank way. You need a constant source of air to practice spraying and not worry about running out of air on your first model(like I did! :-) ) Oh well lesson learned! I think I may give in and buy the C&H compressor. What do you guys think?
KFMagee
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 1,586 Posts
KitMaker Network: 302 Posts
Posted: Sunday, December 01, 2002 - 06:04 PM UTC
Guess i have to beg to differ here... I use a tank but also have a small tire compressor that I use to fill it up right in my garage... I can pump that puppy to about 120psi, and that will give me about 30-40 minutes of spray time in peace and quiet. Just go out and buy yourself a cheap compressor at home depot to fill the tank up... then in 15 minutes, you have two nights of quiet painting... with a compressor, you have two nights of NOISE while you paint...
matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 5,957 Posts